Horse lover shares love with others

           Before coming to Michigan State and joining the Equestrian Team, Ashlee Bruewer spent her free time teaching riding lessons, competing and caring for her horse.

            Since then she had to give up her leased horse because she could no longer afford to care for it, but she continues to ride with the Equestrian team.

            “My parents wouldn’t pay for my horse,” Bruewer said. “I had to make a choice and it wasn’t the biggest necessity.”

            Bruewer has been riding horses since she was 8 years old.

            “My best friend had started riding and she got her own pony,” Bruewer said. “I begged my parents for years to ride by they said no because it was too expensive. For my eighth birthday my uncle gave me $20 and told me to go take a riding lesson. It developed form there.”

            Once Bruewer turned 15 the owner of her barn began training her to teach lessons.

            “I taught riding lessons at Rochester Hills in Romeo,” Bruewer said. “Eventually I worked my way up to teaching group lessons and working at the summer camps.”

            Bruewer said that she would teach about four lessons a week, in addition to riding her horse five days a week.

            “The best feeling is when you go out there and come in feeling like you did really well,” Bruewer said. “ There is a feeling that every rider gets, even if it isn’t reflected in the color of the ribbon, but you know what is good for you and your horse.”

Leslie Tilson 

Check out the Rochester Hills Stables here. 

Need directions to the stable? Click here!

Bruewer rides her horse in competition.

Bruewer rides her horse in competition. Photo submitted by Ashlee Bruewer

Comments Off on Horse lover shares love with others

Filed under Miscellaneous

Comments are closed.