Stuck in the House

By Patrice Hendrix

Finally, house music gets a pedestal upon which it can gracefully sit. And finally it gets its due respect instead of being compared to techno music. House music cannot be summed up, but my fellow bloggers touched on three cool facts that stood out to me.

1. House music is an escapism into any frame of thought, atmosphere, creative space, etc., that you’d wish to find yourself in, as said in the blog, House Music All Night Long. This means that any person, place, or thing can be envisioned and virtually visited when submerging in house music. This is an important quality of house music for me. Through house music I feel like I have been to London, Paris, and Cape Town already!

2. It’s a  private space to call your own especially since most people refuse to understand it anyhow. In fact, the house music community is a very hidden one. The only people I come across who are hip to house music are folks on the internet, primarily from the UK. The author of http://houseofexpression.wordpress.com/2009/03/04/house-music/ can feel my pain and my joy on the house music front. The blogger makes it clear that house is an art form, an expression. It is an underground world, which would explain why the soulful and artistic form of it is so well-developed. Because the masses have left house music alone, its artists have had the time and space to develop it into a rare gem.

3.  Its been around the block a few times. What I mean by this is that house music is no new phenomenon in the music industry. It has a solid, underground history and only feels new because its sound has evolved into one of soul, hip-hop, bass, and jazz. House music was born into a disco sound when it became popular on the underground scene of Chicago.  DJ Vince Adams explains the origins of house music in his blog, “The Death and Resurrection of House Music” at http://djvinceadams.wordpress.com/2009/07/29/death-of-house-music/.  He is a fighter for house music and I can understand that. He said that house music was a sound that brought folks out to the nightclub. Now people might sneer and ask the person next to them “what in the world is the dj playing?”  Adams’ blog, in so many words, says to the world that house music is not dead.  It only died down and then revamped itself with a fresh new sound. Adams’ blog also reminds me that house music was born in the U.S. which is hard to fathom since listeners in the UK seem to have more appreciation for it.

These three blogs have renewed my hope for the due recognition that I hope house music will one day receive. But in the reverse, I like the fact that house music is an underground entity. It’s a quality that comes with the territory, I think. As mentioned in the blog,  “House Music All Night Long,” the music creates a vibration that allows its listeners to go off on tangents. Unlike mainstream music, house is where all the “different” people hang out. No one wants to follow a “norm” or be like anyone else.  We just want to nod our heads and move our bodies to the same beat.  So in that case, I guess I would rather be stuck in the house.

Comments Off on Stuck in the House

Filed under music

Comments are closed.