There’s a First Time for Everything

Or at least that’s what they say, but I never expected what happened to me Thursday morning.

So I’m sitting in class, messing around on Facebook in the few minutes before Nancy usually started. I make some small talk with my classmates, everyone’s stressing out about this grammar quiz coming up. I wasn’t too worried. Had I studied? Not really. Had I failed a grammar quiz yet? Nope.

The time reads 9:11, Nancy is nowhere to be seen. I’m not surprised. She lives out near me, so I know how long of a drive it is, and I know how bad that traffic can be. I think nothing of it and take this opportunity to chat with my girlfriend on Facebook (I should have been studying for the grammar quiz, but whatever.)

9:20 rolls around, and she’s still not here. Sweet. I started packing up. I was ready to head on out. Of course, I’m not that lucky. Turns out Nancy had tweeted to us, first saying she’d be late and then giving us an actual assignment over some site called Audioboo.

This lead to a whole bunch of problems and a whole bunch of realizations.

Problem 1: I didn’t have my stenopad

Problem 2: I didn’t have a flip

Problem 3: I didn’t have a camera

I usually carry my stenopad, but I had left it on my desk, and I usually borrow the cameras from a friend when I go out to cover a story, because I don’t have cameras of my own yet. Seeing as the assignment was to find and interview someone about their plans for spring break, and to get them on camera, I was in trouble.

The situation also made me think. Not of the power of twitter and of the internet, but of just how many students could be potentially ticked off in the future due to this technology. Students wait in painful anticipation for their professors not to shot up. If the class was supposed to start 3 minutes ago, and the professor is still not there, we get all excited. We place bets on if he or she is going to show up or not.

If professors start texting, facebooking, or tweeting students from their cars with links to homework assignments they can work on, or just telling them to “stay put” because they’re on their way, I know a lot of students who would be thoroughly ticked off. I also know a lot of students who would just up and leave after 15 minutes. I mean, could professors really do anything about it? That’s definitely something to look into.

By: Nick Bryant

Comments Off on There’s a First Time for Everything

Filed under Nancy: Instructor blogs, Twitter

Comments are closed.