Letting the Great World Spin

Between work and class, I have virtually no time for reading things other than my Twitter feed, but reading is something that filled my childhood.

I was that girl…reading everything I could get my hands on.

Luckily this assignment gives me the excuse to continue a novel I’ve been putting off for a long time now: Let the Great World Spin.

Within the first few pages the author, Colum McCann, had captured my attention for two reasons. Firstly, my fascination with Dublin and secondly, the absolute poetry of the syntax.

The novel tells a story of two brothers, one having just left Dublin and narrating the story and the other, a more established American living in Manhattan. The second brother, Corrigan, lives as a monk in the Bronx with prostitutes and street criminals as friends and struggles to help his brother, a broading musician and tightrope walker to understand his way of life.

The author creates really rich characters and deep plot lines, with a lot of flashback material.

And as much as I try to stay away from anything Oprah puts her stamp of approval on, I’ll overlook that this time.

Comments Off on Letting the Great World Spin

Filed under Lauren McKown, Novel, Recently read

Comments are closed.