Picking Up An Old Favorite

By Nick Bryant

So I finally had time to sit back and relax a few days ago, and I picked an old favorite book of mine from a tote full of books I have.

The book, “Where The Red Fern Grows” by Wilson Rawls, has been a favorite of mine for a very long time. I was forced to read it back in an elementary school reading class, and I’ve kept that copy throughout the years, reading it at least once a year. I still get all teary-eyed at the end.

For those of you who don’t know, the book follows the story of Billy Coleman. It starts with him as a men seeing an old coon dog in a fight in the city, and he thinks back to his hunting days in the Ozark Mountains. As a boy he wanted coon dogs, worked for two years to raise the money to get a pair of coon dogs, went off to get them, came back, raised them, trained them, and ended up winning a competition. In the end the dogs die and the boy moves away. Very simple. But the story is beautifully written. The reader really feels connected with the character. Like I said, I still cry.

Comments Off on Picking Up An Old Favorite

Filed under weekly blog

Comments are closed.